FrenchFrog

Help me choose a D300 housing

Hello all,

I’m trying to choose a housing for my D300. Yoko gave me a head start with his wonderful reports on PIE 2008.

Being in the states, the contenders are in no particular order: Sea and Sea, Nexus, Seatool and Aquatica. Subal and Seacam I’ve removed because of the price tag. (unless you tell me that with those housing I won’t have to think and every image will be perfect, LOL !!!!!!).

May be some questions are basic but this is my first housing (besides PS), be kind :lol:

I’m still learning how to use the D300, coming from an all manual SLR setup (too many buttons, those DSLR must be made for guys, LOL !!!!)

Anyhow joking aside, What can you tell me about:

* Housing lock and O-ring systems, pros and cons for each of those housings.

* Port system ( will it accept fat lenses or not, port lock available or not, apparently many people are flooding due to port getting loose so may be it is a must, compatibility between brand; can lenses be removed from the port side, ………)

* Housing size, pros and cons of the smaller seatool housing (weight UW, can it be easily compensated with floating arms?)

* Ergonomics: Card and Battery access, does the camera needs to be removed from the housing to recharge or exchange card? Can one take a picture with one hand (I have fairly big hands for a girl (wear size Large in Lab gloves for those of you familiar with them)? Are all camera controls accessible or not?

* Strobes option: fiber optic connection option for nexus and seatool, when you hear about all the problem of flooded cord is it the answer? but is there a huge down side as far as sucking camera power for the internal flash?; what are the TTL options for each of them?

* If you own one of this system, what do you love or dislike (wished for) about it?