Sign in to follow this  
Tristan

Help getting a Camera

HI guys and gals,

I'm relatively new to the underwater photography scene. currently i have a Casio QV-R51 and am using a DiCAPac WP-300 Waterproof Case

it works ok how ever cannot go as deep as i free dive and the camera require you to be rather stlll to take the photos, and as you know its kind of hard to sit still when the swell is swaying you back and forth.

so i have been looking to get a new camera to take with me on my diving adventures, at present i free dive but in the near future will be doing suba diving so i need a cam that can go deeper as well.

i have been looking at the following 2 cameras how ever i do not know enough about photography let alone underwater photography to know what i should be looking at.

i'm after something simple for now but still with enough features so that as i learn/get better i can still use it with more advanced options/expansions. im also looking at around the $1000 mark

also i live in Perth Western Australia, so im mostly diving along the west coast areas.

the 2 cameras i have been looking at are

Sea&Sea DX-1G

SeaLife DC800

im really liking the look of the sea life DC800

any advice would be appreciated

Thanks

Edited by Tristan

Hi

Like you I am a relative newbie at the U/W photography game. I am just past the point and push stage, but not yet up to the DSLR knobs and whistles stage.

Buying any camera is a personal choice at the end of the day, you need to handle the units, get a feel for what is good in your hands, how all the knobs and buttons feel to you. No-one can ever tell you which is the right feel for you.

However... You asked an opinion and here is mine - DX-1G

As to why...

Their major tips for producing better shots I have found are

1) Go Manual

2) The 5 tricks to good pictures are ISO / White balance / RAW / Metering patterns / Adobe RGB

3) Fix speed and flash, but change f-stop as you get closer

Going through these stepwise...