arsibaba

Canon G9 Casing

There is a thread in the forum already comparing the Ikelite casing to the one offered by Canon for the G9 but it seems it went off on a tangent.

Facts:

- I'm a Beginner

- I'm getting my advanced PADI Certification so will be going to 100 feet of depth

- I want to take pictures mainly for memory and to show to friends.

- I don't have a lot of money.

- I will probably be diving in January in Phuket but do not think I will get an opportunity to dive for another year or 2.

Is getting JUST the Canon underwater casing be good enough for taking pictures? As i know zilch about underwater photography (where to take pictures, how close can i be, how far i can be), I'm looking for some help here. Or do I absolutely absolutely, as a beginner and probably not doing this much still need to get stuff like Strobes and what not because not investing in them at those depths is completely useless.

The entire combo is costing me 700 bucks ... any suggestions?

Edited by arsibaba

The G9 is an awesome camera for a point and shoot. I've used it with the Canon Housing and have been satisfied. I'm thinking of moving up to the Ikelite housing to allow for lenses etc in the future.

If I were you, G9 with the Canon Housing and a Magic Filter on the lense (adds red back in making the colours better).

Hey thanks for the info.

As i said, I do not know anything about underwater photography. Where can i get a magic filter and how much do these things cost?

I think Divebutt's suggestion is spot on. Keep it simple, achieve some very acceptable results and let the system grow with your diving skills and photography expectations. Be aware that the Canon G9 housing has been discontinued. Old stock will probably be available for a while but when its gone, its gone...