chphoto

Magic-Filter vs. PhotoShop

I am a beginner, and I have been reading a lot of good things about Magic-Filter. However, I cannot understand why exact same effect cannot be achieved with a PhotoShop filter? All it does is adds some red shift to every pixel, this must be trivial change to do in post processing. And since most people shoot RAW this and white balance will not be any more lossy than it is to do this with the filter. Am I wrong?

I am a beginner, and I have been reading a lot of good things about Magic-Filter. However, I cannot understand why exact same effect cannot be achieved with a PhotoShop filter? All it does is adds some red shift to every pixel, this must be trivial change to do in post processing. And since most people shoot RAW this and white balance will not be any more lossy than it is to do this with the filter. Am I wrong?

Colour filters on a camera filter out light so, for example, you don't add red, you remove cyan. Does anyone ever look at the other layers of controls in the Adobe RAW Converter? I'd better be careful. This subject may be a bit of a sacred cow on this site! Is that Emperor butt-naked?

Edited by John Bantin

Its a good question and one I get asked regularly. The main reason I developed the Magic Filter for myself (before it was made commercially available) was because I was disappointed with what I could achieve just using Photoshop and RAW converter.