DiveGirl 50

Inon Viewfinder - Straight or 45 degree

Has anyone had experience with using an Inon Viewfinder?

I have a choice of the 45 degree or Straight version for my Nexus housing.

No problems with installation - I am wondering about the differences in using the two versions, and why you would choose one over the other.

Thanks

I have the 45 degree version on my Ikelite housing for my Canon 50D. I really like it. Two things take getting used to - overcoming the natural inclination to bring the camera up to a straight-ahead view, which is what we've all been doing over the years, and the need to turn the viewfinder when you turn the camera 90 degrees for vertical shots. But you adjust to these quickly. I like it because it helps allow you to follow one of the major rules of underwater photography ("shoot up") more easily, without necessarily getting on the bottom and stirring things up or just generally having to get your body/neck in a tricky position. In my setup, it also improves in general the view of the viewfinder. I've not used the straight-ahead version.

Good luck!

Ken

I use the 45 degree too and love it. The only problems I have are hunting for subjects when doing supermacro... its that much harder when you are working at an angle...

i have used both and would generally say, that i prefer the 45° viewfinder. you get used to finding things in the viewfinder pretty quick (in the beginning you always aim too high) ... and i find the 45° also very suitable for wideangle. i shoot exclusivly 45° with all lenses.

i tried the straight viewfinder for one trip ... i could not see any advantage in it except for quick and easy changing to verticals

serge

I use the 45 degree viewfinder and i love it. Another bonus of using the 45 is that no-one else wants to borrow my housing cos they hate it!

Serge, I'm in Jakarta now - need me to get you a sensor cleaning kit before lembeh?