Sign in to follow this  
gavinparsons

Sea&Sea YS110 flooding problem

I have a couple of S&S YS110s, but one keeps flooding in the battery compartment. It's never too much water, but enough to destroy a battery or two. The unit is sealed so still works after being cleaned, but it is getting annoying. I have changed the battery compartment cap, but again it flooded. It doesn't do it every dive either. And the other gun has never flooded

Has anyone else had the same problem?

Also the contacts are getting soiled with battery gunk and I'd like to get in there to clean them properly. Has anyone attempted this and is there a service manual anywhere that shows how to dismantle and reassemble the unit again? I'm not a novice at this sort of thing. I've taken cameras and lenses apart and reassembled them for several years, but I could do with the diagram or set of instructions to know what to do.

Thanks

One of my YS-110s is similar: I had a rechargeable battery leak inside one of them and it corroded the metal bits. Still works, but for a while I thought it was toast. I cleaned the corroded metal with a gritty eraser (one of those that used to be used to erase ink). Not all of it was removed, but it still works. Also, I've found that just that one of my two strobes needs the o-ring lubed a lot more often than the other. Do you have trouble getting the cap on the battery compartment? If so, try lubing the o-ring a bit, then the cap should go on with no effort.

Strange - Im assuming its an o ring problem but its strange it has done this with two different caps. Did you get a fresh O ring with the new cap? Have you ever used a non sea and sea approved silicone grease on your blue o rings?