Pfuller

Buoyancy, trim and streamlining

I'm fairly new to Scuba diving, and did a lot of my UW photography on snorkel for the past couple of years.

Now i have switched to scuba, i'm finding that having a tank on my back (12 litre/100cft steel with a backplate/wing) really alters my centre of gravity. I use to be able to nail macro/supermacro focus by setting the desired focus, and rocking back and forward to get the focus sharp. I'm finding this much harder with a tank on my back which i find accentuates your movement much more (we're talking millimetres here, which obviously matters with 1:1 plus macro shots).

Does anyone have any advice on how to setup thier rig to improve your centre of gravity? I just read about V or P weights. Does tank weighting help? What are peoples opinions on the best weighting placement for photographers doing macro work?

Edited by Pfuller

I used to have the same problem. I listened to some freinds advice and switched to a wing, harness and use a SS backplate - i find that this enables me to keep relatively still and also means that my weight never shifts around as it used to when i used a Weight belt, all my weight is distibuted evenly across my back and secured with the harness. I also add trim weights to balance myself - normally 1 kg on the lower tank strap. This seems to work regardless of the port / lens combination that i am using and helps me to keep horizontal.

Although i have ordered some bouyancy arms and i am looking forward to trying those - although in reality it is save my wrists more than for trim :)

The other thing that really helped me was use of correct breathing techniques. As we all know your lungs and the way you use them can have a big effect on your position in the water. Once i have locked focus i hold my breath until i have pressed the shutter this way you eliminate any out of focus shots from rising as you inhale or sinking as you exhale.

Regards,

Alastair