banishs

writer looking for photographer

Hello, banishs here. I just got back from tacoma dive show where i did a seminar that Jett B (can't remember full last name) did and found out that i basically have no chance of ever writing for a scuba magazine without pictures. editors apparently like the whole package, pics and words. Well, I am no photographer and honestly have no interest in it, except to appreciate the really cool pics you guys take. I then talked to someone from xray magazine who was kind enough to give me the name of this website as a possilbe site to find photographers to work with. So if you are a photographer looking for a writer let me know, or if you are willing to work with one (share pictures i may need for a story/article and share any money we may get) let me know. I am a complete newbie and have never been published to be painfully honest. But who knows, maybe you are too and we can take a chance together to try and live the dream. if this info i got is all wet (sorry can not help pun) and this is not a site that can help me, let me know too. Appreciate any replies

banishs

I sometimes supply pictures to go with articles by Tim Ecott but he is an established travel writer. In my experience the writer gets the credit. The photographer maybe gets a 6-point credit but often not. It seems unjust because a photographer actually has to go and get the pictures whereas the writer (as often as not) can do his research on the Internet. I suggest you hone your writing skills. If our Editor gets a really good article but poor or no pictures, he asks me to supply them from my library. I don't mind because I have an iniquitous contract with the magazine!

Jett Britnell

thanks should have written it down

banishs