miniman

Just purchased a Canon 7D am I heading in the right direction?

Hi after being out of the water for a while due to my wife’s battle with cancer its now time to get back in the water and after a trip to the Maldives I realised my photos would not get any better with my current set up (Canon ixus, inon lens' and inon z240 strobe).

So in anticipation of a trip to the borderlands with blueO2 in April I have purchased a Canon 7D.

After looking on wetpixel and the net I seem to need

Case: Either an Aquatica, Nauticam or Hugyfot. I am going to dive 2010 next weekend and will try out as many as I can to see which is best suited to the size of my hands.

Another Z240 strobe

Tokina 10-17mm lens and at this point I seem to get stuck.

What other lens’ do I need (macro, WA) ? Will I need lights like the sona’s if I also want to shoot bits of video. I am only an amateur and only take pictures for my enjoyment, although I do want learn to take better pictures.

This is my first SLR camera and any help on with this matter would be gratefully received. Mark

post-8885-1288088688.jpg

Edited by miniman

Hi Mark,

Congrats on the new camera! You are doing the right thing by going to the show and checking out the housings. The right dome port(s) will depend on which housing you choose. I'd recommend you also pick up a 60mm macro lens with the appropriate port and you'll have a great basic kit. Add some arms and you'll be good to go. The Sola is a wonderful light if you have the money. It's possible to shoot some video with it using the macro lens if you rig a tripod. I think though that's a lot to ask for one trip. You may want to concentrate on getting used to shooting the 7D in stills mode if you only have a week or two. Plenty to learn and experiment with.

Really glad to hear your wife is doing better. ;)

Cheers,

Steve