Bent C

Settings for 7D and Z240

I have a PhD in ecology. I teach mathematical modelling of ecological systems on university level. I run a reasearch project on anemonefish. I consider myself reasonably good at solving logical problems. Enter in my life a system change from 5Dm2 in an Ikelite housing with Ikelite strobes to 7D with Nauticam and Z240 strobes with Inon manuals and I am on the intellectual level of an earth worm!. The Ike strobe manual would need to be about three sentences:

1. Connect strobes to housing.

2. For ttl, use buttons for exposure compensation.

3. For manual, use buttons for exposure compensation.

The Z240 has two (2!!!) manuals including gazillions of sentences. And the same guy that writes my tax forms and Ikea´s manuals has for some reason once again been hired to write a manual. To me, it is on the level of sanskrit! I simply do not get it. I can not find the part where it says "When using Ettl2 and wanting the strobe to do s-ttl (which btw seems to be pretty cool according to the manual) set the strobe to x, y and z and use the xxxxxxx for exposure compensation. Same thing with manual (and how complicated should that be!!!!). I do however get that the strobe compensation in some settings work by increasing strobe levels turning a knob clockwise, and in some settings increase strobe levels by turning the same knob counter clockwise. Sounds like a great idea with such a construction after two weeks of 5 hour diving/day!

So I need help. 7D users, how have you set up your strobe? I have after a full days reading and trying a suggestion:

For s-ttl: Set the camera flash to E-ttl2 and the strobe to s-ttl. Set the compensation knop at 12 o´clock. Do not engage the ACC-knob. Use the compensation knob on the strobe for minor strobe compensation (minor!!). Use camera flash compensation for major compensations.