Sign in to follow this  
shallop

Strobes or Filters?

I am new to underwater photography although I have been using SLR for a long time. I will dive in Cairns and Fiji in November and would will use my Nikon D200. Right now I am researching on gears for D200. I read the article by Cheng, "Filters and Ambient Light Photography"

When I am in Cairns and Fiji, I expect myself not going deeper than 50 feet and do day dives only. I think I will use both a wide angle lens and macro 60mm. Do you think using a filter will be sufficient for clear water in Cairns and Fiji or still a better idea get two strobes?

If filters will be sufficient, what kind of filters should I get? I assume water over there will be clear and blue? If I still need strobes, do you have recommendations? I do not see myself diving in California nor anywhere very deep. I guess I do not need very powerful strobes.

Thank you very much for your suggestion.

Hi,

I think there are two answers to your question!

For wide-angle scenic pictures, or pictures of large objects (wrecks, schooling fish) filters will do a great job. Due to how quickly light is absorbed in water, strobes are used in underwater wide-angle to highlight objects close to the camera, whilst balancing the exposure with the ambient light in the background.

For macro subjects, you would typically use strobe light exclusively. This is in order to maximize depth of field by allowing a small aperture, and creatively to reduce the impact of the background.

Strobes cannot be used in conjunction with filters.

Of course this might all be wrong and you may find an excellent creative technique using filters for macro-but it is the conventional view.

Adam