Sign in to follow this  
Fontaine

Help Please! Need to convert my wirelessly triggered strobes to FO cable triggered

I recently bought two Sea and Sea YS-90DX strobes off of the wetpixel classifieds site. To my dismay they are the type of strobes that are triggered wirelessly with no FO cable, I have a sea and sea RDX housing that completely encloses the flash so these new strobes are of no use unless I can get creative.

I am toying with the idea of putting my old strobe where my focus light goes to act as the strobe trigger (this would be no good for night diving or macro as i need a focus light), but ideally I would like to be able to get a Sea and Sea adapter that converts my wireless strobes into wired ones. Please forgive my lack of correct terminology as I am a beginner. My other option is to only use one of the new strobes and my old YS 27 which would be hard wired in and trigger the new one but I dont want to do this as I need a more powerful strobe for WA. The last and most expensive option is to just buy new strobes. If you have any other suggestions I would be hugely grateful.

Please has anyone had this problem, what is the best way to overcome it??? I called reef photo and video and they said an adapter does exist but is no longer sold, I cant find any for sale on the web, so it looks like I will need to get creative.

Thanks for any help/suggestions!

Peter

look at: http://www.seaandsea.com/PDF_manuals/YS90DX.pdf

your strobes can be fired by fiber optic cable or by a electronic sync cable

looks like i need to get my hands on two sea and sea fiber optic retaining rings, which of course nobody sells (actually reef and photo have them on their website) and which did not come with my strobes.

I can only use the sync cord if i have a nikonos adapter which needs to be installed by the guys at reef photo who need to pressure test the rig before it can be used, i live in indonesia so this option is out of the question.