Sign in to follow this  
fishydiver123

First decent set of gear

I am fairly new to underwater photography, having used a panasonic fx35 before (fully auto, no strobe), and am looking for advice on new kit.

I am looking at getting a g9 canon housing. Would you recommend this for underwater photography, as the ikelite housing is no longer available, even on ebay? Also what kind of results do you get with the g9 without a strobe? (budget is not very high!) Any sample photos?

I have also looked at purchasing a new camera, perhaps a fuji f80 or something similar - any recommendations for why I should get something newer? I would like to buy a strobe if I keep the canon, but I cannot afford to spend much on a Sea&Sea or similar. I know it's basic but will the fuji underwater strobe kit/fantasea nano make a difference to my photos, or are they not strong enough to help at all? Thanks.

Although I'd usually always recommend the use of a strobe UW, one only has to look at Brian Mayes' photostream to see

that a strobe/s is not essential, especially for close focus macro work. He uses the G9 without strobe to achieve some really

stunning images. Though of course its not the camera but the person behind it that counts.

If considering more recent models on your budget perhaps you could look at the Canon S90/95 and then have the option to

consider adding a small strobe like the Inon S2000 or Sea & Sea YS-01 at a later date.

Cheers,

Jim.

I have looked at this option, but the problem is price - I already have the g9, so the housing is the only expense, plus the strobe if I go for it. I am not a year-round diver so I can't afford to splash out (no pun intended) on a £700 set of gear. Is it better to get a newer model, or go for the g9 and the nano, with the possibility always existing to upgrade the strobe when I start doing more diving (live miles away from the sea in England and am still at school at the moment so only dive in holidays!). THanks