Sign in to follow this  
kun1

new to video

Hey,

im looking for some help and tips on shooting on underwater video. I didn't see a newbie forum for video just photography so if im in the wrong place apologies, maybe a mod could directed this thread to the correct section...

First things first, i've been diving for around 11 years now and i've been to some pretty amazing places but i have nothing to remind me of some of the stunning sights i've seen, mantas, dolphins, sperm whales and crazy macro are all just memories in my head! So earlier this year i decided im going to have to do something about this so i can relive my trips and share them with others. So i looked into getting a video setup....

I was looking at getting a ikelite housing until i noticed a setup on Ebay. I managed to pick up a Sony fx7 and a Amphibico housing at a really good price . A local shop also told me the fx7 would be a much better choice as i would be able to white balance etc manually which i would want to do later down the line.

So what i have here is a video of the sand tiger shark migration off the coast of kwazulu natal on Protea Banks. i've seen some absolutely amazing videos on this board and it's very inspiring. i'm a little embarrassed to show my video here to be honest. But im willing to take a bit of a bashing if it will help me in the long run, i was wondering if you could give me some tips tell me what ive done wrong so i can improve. The things i dont like about it are it looks very blue and the images arnt very sharp?? but maybe that's because of the depth??.. what i do like is the sharks were a pretty good subject to practice on, theyre pretty docile if you follow a few simple rules.

I know nothing about cameras or filming, hope you guys can help me out?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YpNtq0mdRfY

Edited by kun1