Sign in to follow this  
mattwallace24

Blue Shark

This is my first time uploading a photo for critique. Looking for some feedback and constructive criticism.

This was shot with a Nikon D90/Tokina 10-17 FE using ISO 320, f/8, and 1/250 shutter speed. Twin YS-1D strobes set to 1/4 power or less.

Picture was shot mid-afternoon at surface in dark green water (Rhode Island). Shark was approximately 7 feet long, so struggled lighting entire shot during these "nose in" approaches. Also was my first time shooting with twin strobes, so I'm sure I still have a lot to learn.

The original picture was shot in RAW (~12 MP), but had to use a much smaller jpeg to get below the 1000k file attachment limitation.

Let me know what you think.

Regards, Matt

post-42398-0-75160500-1375128731_thumb.jpg

• Like 1

Love it Matt,

Blues are such gorgeous animals. If it was mine I would try to lighten it up just enough the see the dorsal a little more clearly. Either globally of locally. The fins are such a critical element to most folks expectations I'd see if I could make it a little more prominent.

Cheers

I'd be very happy with the image as it stands: the lighting emphasises the really nice reflection.

Nice capture... blue sharks are one of my favourite looking sharks.

just a small question... how did you get1/250 from your D90.. i have tried several times and cannot get it to do that.

Edited by Alastair

Alastair -

I'm only guessing on this, but it could be your brand of strobes. I did a quick search of the issue and found most D90 users were limited to 1/200. I did find a post where a user was able to reach higher speeds land was using Sea & Sea strobes like myself. He could only get 1/200 with an IKE housing and IKE strobes, but could go higher when he switched to S&S strobes.

Since we have the same housing, that shouldn't be the issue. I don't have anything setup unusual in my camera settings that I'm aware of. I do use standard S&S sync cords versus optical.