Atom

Thinking about acquiring a viewfinder

I'm thinking about adding a viewfinder to my housing (Nauticam D7100). So obviously the choice is between the Nauticam 45 degree and the straight one.

I'd go for the 45 since it seems it would be a much better position for shooting, but reading some reviews everybody seems to say it's quite hard to get used to, am I an idiot for thinking I'll get used to it?

I am also wondering why the straight one is more expensive, it seems the 45 is more complex and should be the one that costs more, does it have improved image quality over the 45?

Would love to hear feedback from people who've switched to either of those viewfinders.

• Like 1

Howdy,

I have been using the 45 for a couple of years now and don't know how I ever shot without it. As you say it puts you in a much better position for normal shooting situations. I love it for macro in places like Lembeh, it keeps me off the bottom and lets me get the low angle without disturbing the sand. I loved it for snorkling with big animals like whales and whale sharks. It allows you to stay in a swimming position and still be able to frame and shoot on the move. It took me a couple of hours of practise in the pool to get used to where it was pointing the camera. If you wait till you're on a big trip, with beautiful images dancing in front of you it could be frustrating until you get used to it. A little practise goes a long way.