cboater

Move to Micro Four Thirds or continue with D80 UW

I've been shooting my Nikon D80 underwater for 6 years. Ikelite Housing, Ikelite DS160 Substrobe, Nikon 18-55 lens, Ikelite zoom ring. No macro. No WA. All purchased used. Shoot my D300 topside.

All my 500+ dives are in Bonaire.

I'm going to Indonesia for muck diving and Komodo in September. Not looking forward to traveling with the D80 UW gear. What to do? I tired of my first UW setup (Canon G9, Ikelite housing, Sea and Sea YS110 manual strobes) due to the LCD instead of viewfinder and the delay for writing to SD cards.

What cameras/housings should I consider? What do I lose (besides bulk and weight) by going to Mirrorless? What do I gain?

Any suggestions to get me pointed in the right direction would be great.

Thanks,

I made the move to micro 4/3 last fall after reading posts on this forum, especially from Phil Rudin.

From what I've read, I went with the Olympus OM-D E-M1.

I'd prefer the Nauticam housing with the Zen 170mm n85ii dome port. This allows using the following Olympus m43 lenses: M.Zuiko 9-18mm, M.Zuiko 12-40mm 2.8 PRO, or the M.Zuiko 60mm Macro.

But reality, cost, and the fact that I already had the 9-18mm lens and Zen 100mm port for the Olympus housing, led me to purchase the Olympus PT-EP11 housing. I also will use the 60mm macro with this port.

It seems people are raving about the Sony A7 series and A6000. I'll bet there's some good info here on these systems as well.

I, too, will be diving Bali/Komodo in September and am really excited to try out the new kit.

Regards

Kent

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Edited by Kent Dukes