Cal

Fish eye or rectilinear for filming?

Hey Crew

I recently upgraded to a Canon 5D M II. I'm looking at lens selections. I'm tossing up between the Sigma 15mm and a Canon 17-40mm.

I'm new to video but enjoying the learning process.

What are your thoughts on filming with a fisheye vs rectilinear lens?

Cheers!

Cal

It is rather difficult to find the right dome port/extension/diopter combination for 17-40. I use a 17-40 and a tokina 10-17 with my 5D3. 10-17 has much better corner sharpness but sometimes I find it too wide for objects like sharks and rays.

I read in this forum that the new 16-35 F4 is better.

At the risk of stating the obvious, rectilinear is better for subjects like wrecks and piers, where you want straight lines.

I think rectilinear looks better for panning shots as you don't have the visible "bending" of the image that you get with a fish-eye.

However, a fish-eye is great for close-up wide-angle shots.

If there's a crop factor with the sensor, then there's not much difference between the two.

As always, it's a matter of personal preference.

regards

Peter

Cal, the 16-35 f4 is definitely the lens to get if you can afford it. It also has IS which works with video. 17-40 is problematic with corners. especially on the wide end.

As mentioned by others, rectilinear has always been the classic preference for most underwater shooters because of the lack of distortion, especially on moving shots with a busy background. But even rectilinear wide angle will have some distortion if you pan. 20-24mm is about my favorite focal lengths for underwater use.