Dilma

White balance Underwater

Hi there

I'm quite new to underwater photography and I seem to have problems with the white balance settings to get accurate colors in my pictures.

I have a Nikon D7100 with a Sea & Sea YS-D1 strobe and a Sola Video 2100. I normally use it in TTL mode and I tried the white balance settings in auto, color temperature and flash but my pictures still come very blue.

I tried to use a red filter but everything is red then and I don't really know if this is because the camera has a red filter in or for another reason.

Is there anyone out there who can help me a little with this settings problems??

Thank you in advance

Dilma, not sure what the problem is but first check your setup on land and try taking a picture less than 1 ft away from the lens with the strobe in different positions. Check the histogram.You also didn't mention your settings and most UW photographers shoot manual. You adjust you F stop based on the distance from the subject. ISO normally 200. The higher the shutter speed, the darker the background.

Keep in the mind that rules on how colour is lost at depth applies to any direction the light travels vertically or horizontally either ambient or from your flash.

Normally, I use auto white balance but have my Olympus E-PM1 also set to work WB with my strobe. I also have the flash compensation at -2 EV so the camera uses more flash than ambient.

The trick is, get in close and shoot up.

Hey Dilma

You might like to post some pics then we can take a look. Much depends on the depth, the settings you use on your camera and the setting and positioning of your strobes - and then whether you are shooting WA or macro: I presume WA.

There is another thread running on the same issue - where a number of us have suggested shooting in RAW (which you can do with your D7100) and then sorting out the problem in, say, Lightroom.