samdona

Best housing and setup for Nikon d810

I am a very experienced photographer and a capable diver. I own a Nikon d810 which I feel very comfortable with and the Nikon 16-35mm f/4.0 VR lens which I have been using mostly for landscapes(I am not against selling this and buying a lens that would be better for underwater photos). I am wondering what gear I should buy before venturing into the beautiful depths of the sea. I have been looking at the Sea and Sea, Ikelite and Aquatica housings and the differences all seem very minor, well except for the price. I would love to hear your opinions on which housing I should buy as well as if my current lens is wide angle enough. I would also love to hear input about which strobes/lighting systems I need to buy if any.

A bit about me; I am new to underwater photography but not to diving or to photography, just the combination of the two. I am more of an "advanced hobbyist" and I am by no means a professional, although I do plan to get a fair bit of use out of my equipment. With that in mind I am wondering what you all would recommend for the best "bang-for-the-buck" setup for my d810.

Thank you in advance,

Sam

• Like 1

Hi Samdona

I use a Nikon D80 and the Nikkor 16-35mm lens for wide-angle shots underwater.

The 16-35 can be quite tricky to house to get "acceptably" sharp edges and, as many have found, it requires a very large domeport - usually 230mm or 9". An alternative, if you are happy to sell the 16-35 - or to add something else, is the Sigma 15mm which gets great results underwater but can be used in a smaller domeport (less expensive and easier for travelling), usually 190mm or 8". The 1" makes quite a difference.