Sign in to follow this  
stingray15

Lack of Color? Other Issues? Feedback requested

Hello,

I thought I'd post this in the video section.

I am new to the underwater video world. I just got back from Maui and would like to share a few images from some of the footage I shot.

I'd also like to know how you feel the images look. Is it overexposed? Washed out? Lack of color?

I feel the image lacks color and "pop." But I am trying to determine if it is a setting on the camera or just Maui lacking the colored reef structure of the Caribbean. It just doesn't look crisp and colorful. Not sure how much it is ocean conditions, location, or camera capabilities. Maybe I'm wrong, maybe it does have color? Looking for feedback please.

One caveat, these are stills from the video. They are actually iPhone photos of my HD TV with the video paused at certain points. I simply do not have the firewire setup right now to move the video to a CPU. So, the video is actually clearer if viewed on my TV than these photos.

Here is my camera and setting setup...

Camera: Canon HV20 HDV 1080i

Housing: Ikelite

Filter: Red Filter

Auto White Balance

No Lights

F Stop 1.8

Dive Details:

Lahaina, Maui

Depth: 25 feet

Visibility: 40-50 feet

Seas: Relatively calm. We ended up at this local site as we were blown out of our main dive site due to rough seas.

Thanks in advance.

post-53831-0-07093300-1457836336_thumb.jpg

post-53831-0-10055300-1457836351_thumb.jpg

post-53831-0-59904200-1457836505_thumb.jpg

post-53831-0-04934700-1457836628_thumb.jpg

Too many variables to give a good answer. Your unhappiness could be due (for example) to just the display on your HD TV. Frankly, video to TV to iPhone is a not a good way to judge the original video!

Maui is not as colorful as many places; that is not why one dives there.

I don't see anything fundamentally wrong with your captures.