SCUBA Hank

Pelican Case Users

Hello All,

For those of you who use a Pelican case to "CHECK" your luggage (Rig), what model case do you use?

I have weighed (no pun intended) the options of a soft case (Think Tank) vs. Hard Case (Pelican) and carryon vs. check and I am going to check my luggage in a hard case. Now I just need to decide which model number Pelican case I shall order.

For those of you who use a Pelican case, which model do you use? Would you recommend it? Wish you had done it differently?

Thanks for all your comments thus far, I love this site!

-Hank

• Like 1

Hi Hank

As I think I've said before, I've been using a Pelican 1510 for 15+ years. Although I always roll it into the cabin, I know if push came to shove, I could check it and the contents should be fine.

The 1510 is, I believe, the largest dimension wise that can be cabin carried. Let's not get into the weight!

For me it holds my housing, a macro port, two Inon strobes, clamps, focus light and charger, bit and bobs. Rest goes with my dive gear, hold loaded.

One vote for the 1510!

I used to have a 1610. It worked exceptionally well (those things are bulletproof and then some) but was extremely heavy - I think 10 kg when empty. I used the foam insert but would switch to the padded inserts as they are more flexible and take up less interior space, allowing more gear inside.

However I now use a backpack since my gear is very compact (m4/3 system for macro, so no huge ports and small strobes) and I don't mind packing the arms and Stix floats in with the dive gear.

I also use the 1510 as carry on. It fits by D7000/Aquatica system, flat port, extension tube, two Ike 161s, two arms, three lenses (105, 60, 10-17) viewfinder, diopter, one Ike charger, one Nikpn charger... 42# all together!

I only check my large dome and another ike charger, and my focus lite etc.