Hi guys,

Do you have any information on strobes reliability (especially when comparing Inon Z240 vs Sea&Sea YSD2)?

I have been using Inon Z240 for 6 years and never had any problems with it. I use optical cables and slave trigerring (with TTL), so cannot comment on electric trigerring, but I have even never heard of any malfunction related to optical trigerring on Inon Z240. From what I know, these strobes are very reliable.

As there is improved control over exposure in case of new YSD2 (plus some other features), I sold my Inon Z240 to uprade to YSD2. But after browsing through the internet I found out, there is many complaints about poor reliability of Sea&Sea YSD2. It usually relates to overheating when firing more than 10 times at high setting "in a row". I usually don´t fire strobes at high setting 10 times in a row (as it is not even possible when using optical cables), but there were also other issues reported.

New features are nice, but reliability comes first when going to an expensive diving trip, being engaged as UW photographer (taking photos of freediving champions for example).... I cannot afford any mulfanction in that case. So now I feel like selling my old but reliable Inon was maybe a mistake. Not sure whether to buy Sea&Sea YSD2 (as it features many improvements) or get back to old, but reliable Inon Z240.

Many thanks for information / sharing experience with Sea&Sea YSD2.

As a potential buyer considering between the Inon Z240 and Sea&Sea YSD2 (for a TTL optical triggering) I'd also like to bump up this discussion.

any input appreciated.

I have a pair of D1s and have 400 plus dives on them so thousands of flashes and the only complaint I have is grabing the wrong knob when adjusting power, I think they addressed that with the D2s. I think you will be fine.