Sign in to follow this  
Msorougi

Red Sea: Brothers Islands or Thistlegorm?

I am planning to go on a liveaboard in the Red Sea. I am undecided between two itineraries:

- Get Wrecked: all the famous wrecks like Thistlegorm and Rosalie Muller

- Simply the best: Brothers Islands, Elphinstone, Daedalus

I am an uw photog beginner, mainly interested in wide angle. Which would be a good start for me?

The brother islands itinerary at big brother has a wreck on each side of the island which comes to about 30 feet(Numidia and Aida). Very nice wrecks. The rest of the dives at the brothers is walls which are great. Elphinstone and Daedalus also has walls. Visibility is very good. All the best i think is the better all round itinerary for wildlife and reefs.

Edited by saga7

Depends on the time of year and also what subjects you want to shoot.

I prefer the northern route that takes in Ras Mohammed and famous wrecks. I usually do that twice a year (summer) and then do Brothers/Daedalus/St Johns once a year (autumn/spring).

Alex

While the diving in the Red Sea is superb, I find that many of the conventional liveaboard tours do not offer great facilities for photographers. They all tend to rush about, trying to squeeze as many dive sites in as possible.

I would suggest going a specific photographic trip, like the ones Alex runs, although there are others too.

I would google Red Sea Liveaboard photography, or search through the trips forum here on Wetpixel, you should get a few options.

All the best

Adam

Picking up on your statement about being a beginner, I'd recommend the Get Wrecked itinerary as this would give you a greater variety of subject matter over Simply the Best, and allow you to get to grips with the basics of your rig.