Jock

Inon knob 3d printing - please help modifying

A while ago I downloaded an .stl file from Thingiverse for an Inon strobe knob. I had the knob printed and used it for a few dives in cold water with thick gloves.

It was absolutely no problem to operate the strobe knobs with this add-on, BUT: The knobs had a tight fitting in the beginning, after 10-15 dives they lost friction, and I lost two of them. Next time I will use some silicone (I am a dentist and have access to low viscosity silicone...) to give them a better friction.

And there is something else that - IMHO - could be improved: As you can see in the attached picture, the "arrowhead" of the knob is quite small. I wish it was bigger, like in the "Photoshopped" version on the right side of the pic (with a quick glimpse you could see more easily to what position the knobs are set). The file is no longer available on Thingiverse, and I cannot find any contact infos for the uploader, Grega Verč, to ask him for a modification.

I have absolutely zero experience with 3D modelling or how to modify the .stl-file, Is someone here whom I might bother to ask to do this for me - and others, of course? I attach the .stl-file; hope it is not against any netiquette and there is no copyright trouble (as far as I remember, the file was offered under a CC license, and I used it just for me, strictly non-commercial)?

To flatten the top of the knob or not is just personal taste.

Regards,
Jock

post-5673-0-09787500-1476550811_thumb.jpg

INON-knob.stl.zip

Edited by Jock

Thanks!

Did not know about Tinkercad - it is really not too complicated to use. I played around with it a little and could personalize the knobs, i.e. engrave my name on the top :-)

I had my knobs printed with "glow in the dark" pla. On 3dhubs.com a knob costs me around 3 EUR here in Germany, pla or abs. Do you think abs is a better choice?

Jock