Jason_D

Advice for a beginner?

Hi guys, im new to the UW photography thing, and new to diving too really.

I started out with a go pro on my 1st fer dives, which was ok, but i wanted an actual camera. I picked up a cheap coolpix camera with an ikelite housing which i used for one holiday before i decided id like to take my D7200 under with me. before sinking thousands into a setup, i bought a Meikon housing (which leaked) and a cheap strobe to give it a go.

Next month I've arranged to buy a Sea and Sea MDX-D7100, Tokina 10-17mm lense and the ports and extention rings to go with it.

I currently have one strobe (ultramax uxds-1) thats only manual. I plan to add a 2nd matching strobe, and possibly later on when funds allow go to a TTL setup.

Now what i want to ask, is, how the hell do you guys get so close when taking macro shots? From what I've read about the tokina 10-17, (never used one yet) you can focus with the dome virtually touching something. Most of the time when I dive as soon as i even see something it runs away!

How close do you have to get with a macro lens? the nikon 105mm seems to be a common choice for under water.

One more question, how do you get a completely black background while shooting the subject?

Thanks in advance, and here's one of my favourite shots using the D7200, with the 18-55mm kit lense, and a Meikon housing! (black backround made in lightroom)

Until i figure out how to upload bigger files this is the oly one i have small enough to upload!

post-55311-0-66310500-1484482091_thumb.jpg

Edited by Jason_D

Hi Jason

Welcome to Wetpixel.

To answer some of your questions:

Black backgrounds are achieved by using a very small aperture, typically f16 or f22. The smaller the aperture the blacker the background. You can pretty much choose the shade of the background in this way. You should be able to do this with your D7200 - if it survived - but possibly not with your Coolpix.