Sign in to follow this  
an_also

Canan 80d ikelite lens options

Hi everyone,

I'm a beginner to uw photography. Been a land shooter for a while. But basically in the future I'm planning on taking a trip to Tonga to snorkel with humpback whales.

I have a canon 80d and am looking for a good affordable setup. The ikelite housing seems the way to go for cost purposes. Looking at the port chart I would love to use the sigma 18-35 1.8 because of the superior image quality. Ikelite lists their 8inch and 6 inch dome port as compatible. The sigma minimum focus distance is 11 inches.

Is that going to be ok with a 6 inch port??

Any other lens recommendations?

Thanks

I am not familiar with the lens but if it is not a fisheye, you would want the larger dome. I am also unsure of how wide 18mm on a crop will be. I don't know how close you will get but 18mm rectangular is just not that wide.

Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk

• Like 1

I am not familiar with the lens but if it is not a fisheye, you would want the larger dome. I am also unsure of how wide 18mm on a crop will be. I don't know how close you will get but 18mm rectangular is just not that wide.

Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk

Thanks for the response. So I guess i'll look more into the Tokina fisheye. Seems like a popular crop sensor dslr lens and has a super close focusing distance.

a