Sign in to follow this  
phxazcraig

Nikon 105vr with 1.4TC?

I've been shooting a Nikon 105vr for 4 years on a D810 in a Nauticam housing. It's a great lens, but I could use more magnification.

I'm upgrading to a D850, and I'm thinking of adding a 30mm extension and a 1.4TC-EII. Anyone shot with this combo? Interested to know how it works, extension needed, etc.

it works, may require auto fine tune.

I'm just wondering what it'll be like for focussing given the TC will lower the amount of light the focussing system has to play with, right?

I sometimes found using the 105 on either a D800 or D500 that I needed to switch to manual focus as there just isn't enough light for the AF.

MF might not be feasible with a TC - although I'm not familiar with the Nauticam. On my Subal if you added a TC I don't think the manual focussing wheel would engage the lens focussing ring. It might be different of course with the Nauticam.

Just a thought

Not sure if you are talking about a port extension or an extension tube. I've used several times the Nikon 105 VR with a Kenko 1.4 TC. With this combination you loose a stop of light wide open and AF becomes slower but usable. You cannot use the manual focus gear for the Nikon 105 VR with the teleconverter (not sure if there is an option for that lens + converter). Anyhow I was able to use that combination with Nauticam SMC using AF (with some headaches at the end of the dives though :-) The port extension for the Kenko 1.4 TC is 20mm (not sure if it's the same with nikon's 1.4 TC).

My plan was to use a 30mm extension tube on the regular 105mm port I already have. Bluewater Photo estimated the 30mm, but when I get the parts if I find it needs something else, I'll return and swap.

I do have the focus gear for the 105, but I never wanted to remove the rubber grip from the lens so I never installed it.