Sign in to follow this  
diverbrad

D810 vs D850

I Am debating buying a new Nikon D850 with Nauticam Housing( and stuff !) vs buying a Nauticam Housing for my D810. I am not a professional photo geek, its just my hobby. I currently am shooting a TG5 and Sony RX100V both in Nauticam housings. I understand the Pixel difference but is there enough of the others positives to go ahead and make the purchase ?

The most important difference between the two is the autofocus on the D850. It is an order of magnitude better than that of the D810.

Given how important AF is to us underwater photographers, this makes the the decision between these two easy!

However, to throw a curved ball, the D500 has the same amazing autofocus, is considerably less expensive and gets around many of the optical problems of full frame high resolution cameras....

Adam

The most important difference between the two is the autofocus on the D850. It is an order of magnitude better than that of the D810.

Given how important AF is to us underwater photographers, this makes the the decision between these two easy!

However, to throw a curved ball, the D500 has the same amazing autofocus, is considerably less expensive and gets around many of the optical problems of full frame high resolution cameras....

Adam

.... and Mr Hanlon persuaded me to go with the D500 rather than the D850 when I was moving on from my much-loved D800 just over a year ago. It was an excellent call. I'm delighted with the D500 and the huge body cost savings has, errr, just gone into a stack more gear.

:crazy:

I recently made the jump from a D800+Nauticam to a D850+Nauticam. The 850 is very nice and takes great images. It's not significant difference in my opinion. I already had an un-housed D500 and could have gone that way too.

For me the decision came down to these factors:

* D800 & housing were 7 years old and working well but eventually entropy will set in.