jeremyinsf

Aquatica Clamps vs Ultralight, and Nauticam Float Arms

Hello - my first real post here - am curious to get some feedback. I have a LX-10 and Natuticam housing/tray etc.

I need to add some triple clamps and am curious if people have opinions on the Aquatica Delta 3 vs the Ultralight version?

Also, I'm considering adding the Nauticam float arm 90mmx220. It would go 'above' the camera, connected to said triple clamps, and then stix float arms attached to the clamps for the lights. The float arm has good lift but is large. Anyone have experience with it that they can share with me?

Thank you!

Hi Jeremy - and welcome to Wetpixel. We hope you find it a really useful and enjoyable forum.

I can't offer feedback between the two systems but I have been using the Ultralight system for almost 20 years. It's great stuff. I'm still using all the original arms, clamps etc that I bought in the early 2000s and they have never let me down. For once, a good underwater equipment investment. Stix is great too.

I would comment though on Triple Clamps. I tried one once and figured that unless a human has an additional third arm, trying to manage two lighting fixtures attached to a housing via a triple clamp is an exercise in futility. One or both arms never stay in place whilst you are adjusting one of them or something else. An utter pain. It's just too complicated in practice although it sounds good in theory.

Just a thought :crazy:

I own Aquatica clamps (not triple ones) and I'm happy with them. I have no comparison to Ultralights but I have used cheaper clamps before and the Aquatica ones are definitely better.

You ask about float arms - the 90x200 you mention has 700grams of lift, just feels like that may be too much lift for a small housing unless you have some really heavy lights to offset. You DO NOT want a rig with positive buoyancy, very difficult to handle.