Sign in to follow this  
mdo905

Does the power difference between the Inon S-2000 and the S&S YS-01 make a difference?

I ask because the most recent Backscatter testing shows the YS-01 being notably more powerful than the S-2000, and they don’t even show the S-2000  on the "with diffusers" graph. 

I’m a novice at UW photography, so is this power difference significant enough to warrant going with the YS-01? 

I currently use a lumix LX10 and a single S-2000.  I really like the S-2000’s small size – I want to keep my whole rig quite compact and know neither are powerful enough for wide angle photography - and I am looking to get another strobe.  If changing to two YS-01 is worthwhile (max flash power, quicker recycle times, etc.) even though they’re significantly bigger, I’m willing to get two and sell my S-2000.  I’m looking for any help and opinions.  Thanks.   

The difference while it looks like a lot is less than a stop (a stop is 1.4, square root of 2) relative difference the YS01 is 1.16 GN brighter. nothing to worry about especially for macro. When I shoot mine in macro I am mostly using them at like 1/2 power

Bill

Interestingly both S&S and Inon both claim their strobes to have GN of 20, the backscatter results show a smaller number. The Inon has GN 17 with the diffuser, the S&S with diffuser is about the same. 

Bill

I have had two YS-01 I damaged one and sea and sea wanted to charge me a very high amount to I got rid of them and switched to Inon
Having had the Z240 and the YS-01 I can tell you that if you don't damage the YS-01 are almost as good for wide angle than the z240
The TTL didn't work but you should not use it.
Right now if you can't afford a Z330 or equivalent power I would go with the YS01/02 for a compact camera to do some decent wide angle
The s2000 are great for macro and cfwa but totally useless for bigger scenes

Sent from my SM-A505FN using Tapatalk