anchochile

TG-6 Macro - Strobe positions with tray

I'm new to macro and struggling with strobe positioning for the TG-6. Everything I read suggests that standard strobe positions for even flat lighting would be at 9 and 3-o'clock, pulled in close for closer subjects, and further out from the lens for subjects farther away.

For supermacro, however, with tiny subjects very close to the lens, it is impossible to bring the strobes closer than 5 inches or so from the lens due to the tray handles (see attached photo). Can anyone suggest the best way to achieve flat even lighting for macro/supermacro with the TG-6 and two strobes?

IMG_8282.jpg

Turn the strobes inward, either at an angle if you have some distance, or, if you're very close, directly facing each other. If the surroundings allow, you can even put one or both behind the subject, facing the camera.

One at 45 degrees to the subject - the other above the camera at 45-60 degrees downwards

I have a similar set-up, but with only one S2000 strobe. I position it right over the lens pointing down for my macro shots.

This setup is primarily designed to be super compact for scootering, but it does work well for macro photos.

T800_Olympus TG-6 underwater setup 4.jpg

Allow me to suggest that you don’t always want “flat and even” lighting, for macro unless you want to produce straightforward ID images. Light and shadow need to be balanced. Backscatter needs to be managed. Backgrounds often need to be minimized. These objectives are not usually compatible with “flat and even” light.