stuartv

TTL, external strobes, optical triggering - how does it work?

I am hoping for a somewhat generalized answer, but if it matters, my specifics are Sony a7rIV, Inon Z240 Type 3 strobes, fiber optic triggering, and a (yet-to-be-purchased) UW Technics TTL trigger. Generally shooting WA and CFWA - no macro.

I have been shooting for several years now with an Olympus m43 and always in full manual. Now I have a new camera and I was thinking that I should get a TTL trigger, rather than a manual for "just in case" I might want to shoot using TTL control. But, I don't understand how TTL actually works for a setup like I would have.

Can anyone point me to some tutorial/video/explanation of how TTL control works using optical triggering and external strobes?

Questions that come to mind are:

- Does TTL always and inherently use a pre-flash? I ask because I have seen some stuff in that past that seemed to imply that some setups could do TTL without doing a pre-flash. I really don't understand how that would work.

- Does the external strobe do its own metering when you use it in TTL mode? Or is that the strobe CAN do its own metering, OR the camera can do the metering and tell the strobe how to fire?

- if the strobe does its own metering, how does it and the camera coordinate to ensure that the camera's aperture/SS/ISO works with the strobe's flash? (again, when triggered via optical cable)

- if the strobe does its own metering, how does it know what to meter against? Often, it will not be pointed directly at the subject, or even very close.

- I watched a video about Canon speed-lites. They showed one that does TTL and one that is manual. The TTL one has 5 pins in the hot shoe. The manual one has only 1 pin. If 5 pins are needed for the camera to do TTL control of the flash, how can the camera do TTL control of an external strobe that only has one fiber optic cable connection?

Thanks for any help.