Russwalters

How Quick Will I Outgrow Strobes

Im just getting into UW photography and am trying to make a decision on what direction to go with strobes. 

I've been told to buy the pro level ones first (Inon z300 or the Sea & Sea YS-D2J ) but obviously they come with a hefty price tag. If I "settled" for something like the Inon D2000, would I quickly be wanting more power? I'm definitely trying to be cost conscious here, but don't want to get in and a few month later already be looking to upgrade. 

As for buying used, is there anything specific that I should be looking for or be aware of with pre-owned strobes? 

Thanks in advance! 

Russ 

This depends very much on your camera model. If you are using a compact you will most likely be able to settle on a smaller strobe and still be happy with the results. 

One thing to take note: Backscatter did a test of many 2019 strobes last year. Their results differed greatly from the numbers provided by the manufacturers. Generally Sea & Sea strobes performed better, but they have a bit of a bad history with reliability.

I shoot micro four thirds and I am fairly happy with my Sea & Sea YS-02 (same as YS-01 but no TTL). If I was using FF and had to stop down more I would need stronger strobes though. 

20 minutes ago, hyp said:

This depends very much on your camera model. If you are using a compact you will most likely be able to settle on a smaller strobe and still be happy with the results. 

One thing to take note: Backscatter did a test of many 2019 strobes last year. Their results differed greatly from the numbers provided by the manufacturers. Generally Sea & Sea strobes performed better, but they have a bit of a bad history with reliability.

I shoot micro four thirds and I am fairly happy with my Sea & Sea YS-02 (same as YS-01 but no TTL). If I was using FF and had to stop down more I would need stronger strobes though. 

I’ll look for the back scatter test! I’m shooting an a6000. Thoughts with that?