AlexDawson

M28A1R170 HDMI 2.0 a joke?

Is the Nauticam M24D2R200-M28A1R170 HDMI 2.0 Cable a joke or what?

Whats the reason for Nauticam to create a M28 (28mm) bulkhead for a cable that measures 9m? And force users to buy new housings just to use their Ninja V recorder Housing? 

I really hope some 3rd party creates a HDMI 2.0 cable with regular M16 bulkhead. I docent seem impossible to me. Or that some one else creates a housing besides Nauticam. 

Id like too hear a good explanation here #nauticam 

kind regards // Alex 

I'm not an expert, but it is my understanding that the HDMI 2.0 spec, which is needed for 4K60P support, precludes intermediate connectors on the cable, and M16 ports are too small for the standard connectors to fit through, hence the M28 requirement.

Hi Alex,

I feel your pain! Having the NA-GH5 (M18) and the NA-Flame housing for my Atomos Inferno - also M18. Having gone through the expensive of getting them upgraded to M24, I was very intrigued why also.

a) Physically a HDMI 90' Plug won't fit in a M18 hole - tried it, even a normal flat plug won't fit
b) HDMI Mini and Micro plugs aren't all that compatible with signals past 14Gbps - so they don't support 4K or 4KDCI @ 60p at 10bit.

It's not just Nauticam's issue, I tried trouble shooting the issue with so many different cables, adaptors etc to see where the issue lay, only thing that work was full sized plug based cables - I didn't find one micro to full sized hdmi cable (even if marked as Premium HDMI) that would work, even using a simple micro > full adaptor.

So the only why for Nauticam to provide us with support for these new 4K and higher signals was to completely move to a straight-through, full sized 'Premium HDMI' cable - even adding breaks in the cable can degrade the performance rendering a cable not compatible with 18Gbps.

More info - https://www.hdmi.org/spec/premiumcable

I think it is actually commendable that Nauticam tackled this problem.