Sign in to follow this  
pandit

Mixed strobes on a TG-5

Hello, I'm new here and just wrote an introduction on myself. I have some (50 years) experience with photography, but only 3 under water. At the moment with a TG5 and the PT-58 housing and  a cheap 60led diving light. I made great pictures with this set. I want to make better ones with lower ISO rates. I bought a SEA&SEA YS03-Solis TTL strobe and have an older SEA&SEA YS-25-DX from a friend to try. Despite my long photography experience I'm a newbie with underwater strobes. I have these strobes a couple of weeks and haven't dive since then.

My Question

The new strobe have TTL , the second one not. Can I mixed these by using the second one as a slave of the first one? I also wander if these strobes comparable, The YS03 is the 2020model and the YS-25 is from 2003, The light temperature is the same

I think it will be pretty difficult to get consistent exposures with a combination of only manual and only auto strobes. However, you may be just fine with a single strobe to begin with. I started with a single YS-02 (same as the YS-03 but only manual instead of only auto) on a Panasonic LX7. Until you add a wet wide lens, a single strobe will be able to cover the whole scene. In addition you will learn a lot more about strobe positioning when you are only using a single one. 

I can't tell you anything about the YS-25, but I'm sure more experienced photographers here will know more.

20 minutes ago, hyp said:

I think it will be pretty difficult to get consistent exposures with a combination of only manual and only auto strobes. However, you may be just fine with a single strobe to begin with. I started with a single YS-02 (same as the YS-03 but only manual instead of only auto) on a Panasonic LX7. Until you add a wet wide lens, a single strobe will be able to cover the whole scene. In addition you will learn a lot more about strobe positioning when you are only using a single one.