Joel Chan

Zoom issues on canon g7x mkII

Hi all,

Seeking some advice from fellow divers.

I recently got my hands on a 2nd hand canon g7x mkII, been using a g12 for a long time , so i figure its time to pamper myself.  For the record, it shoots perfectly, all the buttons work, no issues what so ever, it fits well into the casing, everything checks out on dry land...

However...

once i jump into the water, and im manual mode, im unable to zoom in on subjects. it works perfectly fine on land. while im fiddling with it on land.

but in the water the zoom wont respond. Im kinda new to photography stuff, so.. is the aperture/ shutter speed settings causing it? or could it be a hardware mechanical fault?

Cheers!

Hi Joel

Sounds to me that this could be a positioning problem in the housing - especially if it works perfectly on dry land.

I've seen this a few times especially with polycarbonate housings. It could be that one button is putting slight pressure on a control which then stops the zoom working - so not necessary a problem with the zoom control.

My suggestion would be to try replicating the problem on dry land. So put slight pressure on each control button in turn and then try zooming. If you can't zoom that will then tell you which housing button is not quite aligned right - or putting unwanted pressure on the camera button. Does that make sense?

Then it will be a question of adjusting the housing control button slightly. We'd need to explore that a bit more once you have identified the button and how it activates the camera button.

Are you saying it zooms OK inside the housing on dry land but stops zooming once you submerge?  As Tim says it may be water pressure pushing on another button which locks out the zoom. 

Hey guys, sorry for the slow reply.

i just tried it at home , popping the camera in to the housing ,and giving it a whirl. and yeah the zoom works fine.

like Chris said, yeah i tried it in the housing on dry land.