Sign in to follow this  
vitaly

Upgrade to full frame camera

Hello,

I've been using Olympus EM1, EM1-II for a few years with Nauticam housing. I think about upgrade to full frame camera at some point.
I shoot still and video. If I switch today which brand/system is the best option? Nikon, Canon, Sony? SLR/Mirrorless? Any specific models?

Thank you,
Vitaly

Hey Vitaly

Nikon, Canon, Sony? They're all good. "Best" depends on what you want to do, what sort of shots do you want to take, what do you want to do with them. "Best" is a very relative term. Maybe worth getting a clear idea of the types of image you want - and what you will then do with them. Those decisions impact on the choices you might make.

I'd be slightly wary too of deciding immediately that you want full frame. I've moved back from a Nikon full frame (D800) to the cropped frame D500. I much prefer it: easier to house wide-angle lenses, greater depth of field in macro, cheaper lenses for an indiscernible drop in quality. I thought full frame was the answer to everything. Errr, I now think not.

If you really want full frame and you would always regret it if you went smaller, fair enough. But don't write it off from the start, I'd suggest.