Sign in to follow this  
phxazcraig

(Nikon) Mirrorless users - do you use the viewfinder?

I'm curious on this, coming from a DSLR world.   The only time I've used the back panel LCD while shooting underwater is for video in Live View mode, where I didn't have any choice anyway.

I'm about to start shooting a Z9 underwater, and I've been thinking about viewfinders.   I have a 45 degree viewfinder accessory which I intend to use for macro.   But non-macro, I'm wondering.  I can use either the viewfinder or the back panel LCD interchangeably.  Is anyone else here these days shooting a Nikon ML underwater, or similar, and using the back panel LCD most of the time?

I like having the viewfinder pressed against my mask as a third point of stability.

I'm wondering about this a lot because I've used a 180 degree viewfinder since 2015, but I don't have one for the new rig.  My old 180 wouldn't fit anyway.   So I'm going to have a choice of stock Nauticam viewfinder, back panel LCD, or spend another $1800 on a 180 degree finder.

Craig, won’t a viewfinder really get in the way of viewing the screen? I’ve got a 45 finder on my D500 housing and do a weird sort of head duck to be able to view the screen clearly. 

I don't know what your eyesight is like but for me reading anything on the rear screen UW is a little difficult, so I use the EVF with a 45° viewfinder on my rig.  It's on Olympus and has an EVF, but I wouldn't think of using the rear screen UW, I also review my pics with the viewfinder as it has dioptric correction and you can set the camera to flash up the pic for a period of time after taking the image - 1/2 a second is enough to confirm the strobes fired and exposure is at least in the ballpark, all without taking you eye from the viewfinder.