Chris Wilson

Housing brand confusion

Hi all,

I'm new to underwater photography, despite being a diver of many years. I did a week this year with a TG6 in a housing and really enjoyed it, so I thought I'd upgrade to something mid-range to learn more on.

In doing this I'm trying to understand housings. It seems to me that most of the second hand housings available (I'm in the UK) are Nauticam, but despite being heavily discounted, they're still often more expensive than a new Ikelite housing - and definitely so when you consider adding in the dome that they don't usually come with.

Is there a reason for all this, like do Ikelite housings not last well enough to sell on, or are they poor quality so no-one buys them, or do Nauticam owners always want the latest and greatest, or is there something else I'm not understanding in this world?

Many thanks for your help with what I'm sure will be the first of many very basic questions!

Chris

There's a few differences between the brands, first Ikelite is a plastic housing and while completely usable some housings may not allow you to access all controls.  Typically many of the the controls are directly above the camera buttons so may not be so ergonomic.