Sign in to follow this  
phxazcraig

Confused about WACP-1 - help!

I have been shooting a wide zoom behind a 230mm dome port since 2015.   I'm kind of sick of traveling with it, and I'm more than willing to consider other options.   The main driver for my discontent has been carrying the 230mm dome in a carry-on where I constantly worry about getting it gate-checked if I'm late boarding and can't find overhead space.   I carry it in a Thinktank roller bag, not particularly suited to going in the cargo hold.

So I'm considering a WACP-1.   But I'm confused as to how much the thing ends up weighing and what lens to use behind it.    I'm now shooting a Z9 in a Nauticam housing, using a 14-30 behind that 230mm dome, plus the Sea & Sea Internal Correction Lens.

If I simply swap out the 230mm dome for a WACP-1, it seems that at the least I get a smaller chunk to pack, though I'm not sure if I save any appreciable weight.   It also looks like the WACP-1 is a better candidate for checked luggage than the 230mm dome.  I would love to have less to carry on.

So help me out here - compare the 230mm dome port + 14-30 to a WACP-1 and ??? lens.    What is my closest equivalent lens choice, and how much does it all weigh compared to the 230mm dome with 50mm extension?   

My carry-on is ridiculously heavy at 42 pounds.  

I'm really wondering about lens options - I don't have a feel for angle of view expressed in degrees.   I do have a feel for the 16-35 and the 14-30 lenses behind that 230mm dome on FX cameras.  What is closest with the WACP-1, and what less-wide options can I use as well?  (24-70 instead of 14-30?   Same zoom gear.)

the lens of choice seems to be the Sony 28-70 f3.4-4.5 lens with an adapter as it's the only one that gives you full zoom range.  It is equivalent in field of view approx to a 10-25 rectilinear.  the WACP-1 port chart is here:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1bEtIGoZh1XAzrwolt9JNcUQ2_-XIygWh/view