Sign in to follow this  
MasonH

Help choosing UW set up

Hi, I am new to the world of underwater photography and am looking to purchase a digital camera that will be well suited to underwater use as well as regular use. I know people ask this question all the time and I apologize if its repetitive, but I have done a fair bit of research and but would like to here some opinions from experienced uw photographers.

I would like to purchase a camera, housing, and strobe in $1000 range all together. So far I'm favoring the Sony V3 (not for any particularly good reason), but am clueless about housings or a strobe. I live in Canada and ocassionally dive in some very cold water so I would like equipment that will hold up (I'm not sure if or how much cold water affects this type of equipment?). Also I'd like to hear any reccomendations on where to buy this stuff online. I'm leaving for Cuba May 8th so I need to make a decision very soon.

Thanks very much in advance to all that reply and I hope to become a regular visitor to this forum as there seems to be some very knowledgeable and skilled people here. :D

Hi Mason,

I usually don't answer these types of questions, but you caught me on a good day...:-)

It might be a little bit tight to make it in under $1,000.

I'd recommend the Olympus 5060 with Ikelite housing and DS50 strobe. I think you can pick up a used or refurb'd 5060 still and when you want to upgrade later, you can fit the 7070 in the same housing.

I hope this helps.

Cheers

James