Sign in to follow this  
james

Fuji S2 Pro - UW Samples Posted

If the page doesn't load, remove the br> from teh end of the address or cut and paste it into your browser.

Underwater S2 Pix

Cheers

James

On the macro shots that you posted - are you getting this quality of exposure on ALL your macro shots, or are you showing us your best. Is the TTL good enough that you can get perfect exposures on the 1st try, or do you have to manipulate strobe power and distance to get it right? I've not seen a digital camera yet that does a good job of TTL underwater.

I'm getting TTL exposures about like I used to get w/ my NikV and 1:1 extension tube. Not perfect but it's hitting about 80% of them. I can literally post dozens of pix but that will take time - I just got back yesterday. I asked Sarah to pick 3 or four good shots for me to post ASAP and that's what you all are seeing.

I'm pretty new to SLR photography so I also made some mistakes. I was getting good exposures at 1' and f16 with the 60mm but I tried shooting fish portraits at F16 at 2-3 feet away and forgot to open the aperture to f5.6 or so (I was in manual) so I got a bunch of crappy shots too.

My strobes were in "classic macro position - about 4" out and 4" up from the lens port and slightly behind the end of the port to avoid flare.

The shots I posted are straight from the camera - after opening them in photoshop tonight, I'd say they are about 1/2 stop underexposed. Next trip, I will try using Flash +/- at +.5 or +1

I can only do so much on each trip without going insane.

My assessment: I have seen a camera that does good TTL exposure underwater...:P

Cheers

James

Slight underexposure is my preference, and it is very unique that a digicam underexposes when using TTL. Most that I've seen tend to blow out images. Underexposure can be repaired in photoshop much more easily than overexposure.