dcraven5

Need help with Olympus C-60zoom

Hi everyone,

I am new to diving and even newer to photography and even newer to Wetpixel. I have an Olympus C-60 (which I normally use in Automatic mode) and recently purchased the PT-024 housing for it. I would appreciate any tips or ideas on how to set my camera up to get good quality pictures under water? Can I use the automatic setting or will I have to set things up manually? Will I need a strobe, and if so, is the Sunpak G a good choice for this camera? I don't want to spend a fortune on extra equipment and don't want a huge setup. Thanks in advance and happy diving :blink: !!

Doug

Hi Doug! I'm not a skilled photographer but I will try to do my best with your question :o

My advice is: use always manual setting. Out of water a digital camera can work quite fine in automatical setting in many cases, but not in underwater photos. I started taking pictures with muy digital camera 10 months ago - it's an Olympus C-5060 - and from the beginning I used the manual settings. You will notice a great improvement. Most of times, if you shoot in automatical, colors are rare, strange, blue looks not blue but turquoise-green, and the images seem to be flat, with no contrast and poor colors.

You can try to set different manual values for the same subject you're shooting, change the values, take many photos from the same thing with diffferent values and see what is the best result. It sounds to be hard but when you have made this for a few dives, you will do it easily!

An external strobe is very useful, sure it will improve your pics but maybe you should practise with your camera (is a new element in your hands, somethig new to control) and when you get the hang of your camera, and you really understand what you are doing, go to the next step: buying a strobe. I dont' know that Sunpack G, but maybe another person here can help you.