Photo

Headed to St. Thomas; First shoot with new S&S housing...

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Corey McNabb

Corey McNabb

Damselfish

• Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 06 December 2008 - 11:45 AM

Hello all,

Since my last series of posts, I have bought a D300 and a Sea & Sea housing for it. (I didn't think I wanted to house one of my D3s, so had asked if I should house a D2X or pick up a D300... I did the latter). I also bought the 9.5" dome port and a ys-250 strobe. I'll probably be using the 12-14mm and the 10.5mm, as I'm guessing they would be easier options for shooting people underwater (and since I have yet to buy a port for my 105mm).

I'm primarily a wedding photographer, and on occasion shoot honeymoons too. It was on a honeymoon shoot this past summer that I first fell in love with underwater photography using a housed point and shoot. I have booked the coverage of another couple's honeymoon, and in a couple of weeks, will be heading to St. Thomas for a few days. This will be the first shoot with the new housing. I have not finished my scuba training, nor will I have a lot of personal time while there, so will only be snorkeling.

So, I'd be delighted to receive your advice...

I may not be taking the strobe, but if I do, I have yet to purchase the sync cord... so which one will I need, and do I have to have the ttl converter too if I just want to use the light manually or can I just use the cord from the housing directly to the ys-250?

Does anyone have good recommendations as to where in St. Thomas would be good spots for snorkeling?

Any tips, concerns, or tricks for the housing's first trip (traveling with the dome port, first water entry tips, etc.)?

I've also seen several very thorough and in-depth reports on the logistics of light and dome ports, but is there a short answer as to whether or not I need a diopter, and if so which, with the Nikon 12-24 and the 9.5" dome port?

Thanks in advance,

Corey