Results: 2022 Underwater Tour Awards

The Underwater Tour has published the winning images for its 2022 Awards. There were 6 categories and a Grand Guru portfolio, and hearty congratulations t all those among the placings and to Jake Wilton who was awarded the Grand Guru prize.

Press release

Winners Announced - The Underwater Tour Awards 2022

Australia: 18 Dec 2022: The winners of the third annual Underwater Tour Awards have been announced. The prestigious annual international competition encourages and inspires passion for photography, exploration and discovery from behind the lens and helps raise awareness of the world’s incredible, fragile marine and aquatic inhabitants and their environments. For the first time the Underwater Tour Awards partnered with environmental education and action organisation, Take 3, and introduced a new novice category, The take 3 for the Sea Contest. Proceeds from registration fees and additional donations were given to Take 3.

Led by Convenor Darren Jew, Canon Master and six-time winner of the AIPP’s Professional Nature Photographer of the Year, the international judging panel: Amanda Blanksby, William Tan, Dr Richard Smith, Russell Ord and Brett Lobwein judged hundreds of images submitted by photographers from all over the world.

Each year the competition grows, and we are delighted with the high calibre of submissions,” said Darren Jew. “The finalists’ gallery takes us on a remarkable underwater tour, showcasing the fine work of competing underwater wildlife photographers and celebrating the natural wonders of the underwater world”.

The Guru Awards – Photographic Competition

The only international photography competition of its kind to incorporate a systematic Ethical Review for images submitted, the Underwater Tour Awards Team is committed to ensuring the natural world is depicted both creatively and honestly, with due regard shown to the welfare of all marine life and habitats. All shortlisted images entered were subject to the competition’s Ethics Review process, conducted by renowned Marine biologist and author, Dr Richard Smith, before moving to the first round of judging.

And the winners are …

The Guru Grand Prize

The Guru Grand Prize celebrates a great photographer, not just one great photo and is awarded to the photographer who attains the highest level of achievement from six entries across three or more of the six competition categories.


Gabriel Guzman, Australia

Joergen Rasmussen, Singapore

The Guru Grand Prize Winner: Jake Wilton, Australia

Individual Guru Image Categories:

Underwater Scenes

Winner: Cameron McFarlane

Finalists: Helen Walne, South Africa
Gabriel Guzman, Australia
Wayne Osborn, Australia
Talia Greis, Australia

Underwater Characters

Winner: Jake Wilton

Gabriel Guzman, Australia
Dave Levasseur, Canada
Josh Blank, Australia
Nicolas Remy, Australia

Aquatic Abstract

Winner: Wade Hughes, Australia

Derek Firman, Australia
Richard Condlyffe, USA
Karen Ho, Papua New Guinea
Walter Drechsler, Germany

Topside Scenes

Winner: Anthony Brown (also People’s Choice Award Winner)

Joergen Rasmussen, Singapore
Reed Plummer, Australia
Pam Osborn, Australia
Cameron McFarlane, Australia

Underwater Black and White

Winner: Pavlos Evangelidis

Gabriel Guzman, Australia
Katie Clewett, Australia
Ellen Cuylaerts, United Kingdom
Karen Ho, Papua New Guinea


Winner: Joergen Rasmussen, Singapore

Sam Glenn-Smith, Australia
Jodi Frediani, USA

The People’s Choice Award

Winner: Anthony Brown, Australia (see Topside winner)

Runner Up: Mel Wu, Australia

Two new awards were introduced in 2022:

The Packer’s Prize (chosen by the Underwater Tour Team)

Helen Walne, Cape Town, South Africa

The Take3 Contest

Winner 1: Emma Turner, NSW

Runner Up: Jean-Louis Lebreux, QLD

Winner 2: Jules Casey, VIC

Runner Up: Cathy Finch, QLD

Congratulations to all winners and well done to all entrants” Darren Jew encouraged.

We’d like to thank all our valued Partners – Take 3 and their fabulous prize partners, and our generous friends at CameraPro, Mike Ball Dive Expeditions, Momento Pro, Heron Island, Walindi Plantation Resort, Lady Elliot Island, Lady Musgrave Experience. QySEA FIFISH Henderson Greenpreene, Inon and SeaLife. Co-founder Tim Hochgrebe added “Thank you to everyone who has taken part and supported the Awards this year. Planning for the Underwater Tour Awards 2023 is already in full swing and we are looking forward to seeing you next year”.