Will_Clark

Z240 o-rings want to pop out when screwing the cover back down

I'm new to using Inon 240s. When I change the batteries and come to screw the cover back down, the o-rings always seem to want to pop out a bit in a curl. I've already changed 2 in 3 weeks for fear they are getting stretched... does this happen with yours? Any hints?

Be sure to use the right kind of grease, no silicone grease for silicone o-rings!!! They become soft otherwise.

I replaced them by normal black rubber NBR 70° o-rings with the same measurements and have no problems any more.

Silicone o-rings normally are not used for dynamic applications.

I use one INON D2000 from 2007 and 2 brand new Z240 strobes and never had this problem.

You may should grease the o-ring SLIGHTLY with the included INON o-ring grease.

You will feel the need of grease when turning the cap get hard, with some grease screwing the cap down

should be a smooth operation with slight torque.

Chris

Edited by ChrigelKarrer

I'm new to using Inon 240s. When I change the batteries and come to screw the cover back down, the o-rings always seem to want to pop out a bit in a curl. I've already changed 2 in 3 weeks for fear they are getting stretched... does this happen with yours? Any hints?

I had same problem, was traced back to not using INON o-ring grease.

I replaced them by normal black rubber NBR 70° o-rings with the same measurements...

where did you find?

The Inon O-rings do need regular re-greasing, also when screwing cap on do so slowly to reduce friction.

If in between re-greasing a little spit works just as well to.

Cheers,

Jim.

We use S & S blue top grease and lightly grease the ring and also add a few small daubs to the inside of the plastic cap just before screwing down. Be careful not to over grease!